So today I have learned several things.

After listening to a podcast where Randy Shoup talked about hiring in the development world.  He worked for Google and now works for a game company in San Francisco.  While certainly not a secret, he talked about the google hiring process where they are very rigorous and don’t worry about missing out on potential A-grade employees because they don’t want to hire people who turn out to be the wrong fit.  They really test their applicants on their programming knowledge and then focus on where they should be placed in the company.

What it meant for me was understanding how important it is to know the fundamentals such as data structures, complexity and which languages are suited for certain tasks or problems.  These are foundational topics which I am already learning and need to continue to review.

Second, I learned a little from some previous experience doing development for my company.  I took on a project that I was expecting to lead and ended up doing all of the development for.  As I sat there looking over the design document (that someone else contributed greatly to), I was completely overwhelmed by the massive wall of code that looked unsurpassable.  But after each time looking at the code and trying to figure it out, I learned more and more until I had a pretty complete understanding of the flow and use of all the routines.

This made me realize that this is going to happen with any big project that is new to me, including transitioning into a new career.  At the moment, I’m not sure if I want to do software engineering, web development, testing/QA, etc.  But, with every conversation, every new article or podcast, and every time I sit down to code, I’ll understand it more and feel more confident in my path.

So with a little time investment, I’m sure I will figure out what I want to do and where I want to end up.

As a side note, I tried my hand at my first Project Euler problems today.  As I expected, I was able to quickly throw a java program to do the first one which was to find the sum of numbers between 1 and 1000 that were divisible by 3 and 5.  I even improved my program to go from 1600 operations down to around 500 by checking the multiples of 3 and 5 instead of going from 1 to 1000.  The next program was to sum up the even numbers in a Fibonacci sequence.  This took only a few minutes to through together.  I’m really looking forward to trying my hand at more of these and really confident in how much I can plan ahead as soon as I heard the problem prompt.
Well that’s all for today.

Leave a Reply

